Happy Valentine’s Day: A Love Letter From God :)

Standard

Happy Valentine’s Day!  Today, in honor of all love everywhere and in recognition of what I believe is the Source of that love, I’d like to share the below “Love Letter From God.”  Many of you who know me have already seen this, but in the hopes that someone might see it for the first time, I’m taking this opportunity to share it again…. And who knows?  Perhaps some of us who have already seen it might see it again, with fresh eyes.  🙂

Through the sentiments expressed within (and beneath? beyond?) the words below, I’ve attempted to share a glimpse of how I’ve come to understand, and experience, God’s love for each of us–No matter how much we can, or can’t, do; regardless of how many lives we touch in a day or in a lifetime; irrespective of how polite or rude, selfless or self-absorbed, forgiving or judgmental, health-conscious or couch-potato-esque we may be…God loves us!  With an unconditional, unwavering, unending Love.  Thanks be to God…and Happy Valentine’s Day!  🙂  Enjoy….

“To my Beloved Child…

That is, indeed, a good place to start—

by reminding you that you are my Beloved.

You are a beloved child of mine.

You.

Do you know that?

Do you know how much I love you?

Do you really, really know, deep in your soul,

how much I, God, the Creator of the Universe, love YOU?

And do you know that the reason I love you

is NOT that you are a good person?

Although you are.

Nor is it that you are a kind person

(although you are that, too).

The reason I love you is not all the good you do…

...and I know even better than you how much good

you have done, and how far-reaching its effects….

Nor is it all the smiles you share,

or the prayers you pray…

…nor all the times you’ve reached out

to help someone in need…

…whether a family member, a friend, or even a stranger.

No, it is not for any of those reasons that I love you….

Oh, beloved child of mine, I love you so much!

If only you knew how much….

And do you know, and truly believe, that I love you

even though I know your secrets?

I know the things that you’re afraid of….

I still love you.

I know the things that you’re ashamed of….

I love you anyway.

I know the things that you wish you’d never done….

I still love you.

I know the things that you wish you’d done differently….

I love you anyway.

I know your doubts…your judgments…your fears…your failures…

…and yet, I love you.

None of those things, nor anything else,

could ever keep me from loving you….

I love you, my dear child, because I created you.

I love you, precious one, because there is no one else like you….

No one else.

I love you, Beloved, simply because you are

because that is what Love does

and Love is who I am.

I love you,

now and forever and always,

and there is nothing you can do to change that.

There is nothing you can do to make me love you any more…

…and there is nothing you can do to make me love you any less.

I…love…you.

Deeply.

Totally.

Passionately.

Unconditionally.

Forever.

Please, my dear child, accept my love….”

God

2 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day: A Love Letter From God :)

  1. Pat

    Thank you for your heart felt reminder! In return I offer a simpler letter from God written by a friend of mine:
    Beloved,
    my darling,

    you are more
    messed up than you think,

    but you are mine
    forever.

    Love,
    God

Leave a Reply

