Most recent blood tests/medical update

Standard

So…I’m back!  It has been a while since I’ve taken the time to write anything here.  As I had anticipated but not fully “appreciated,” having the kids home from school all day every day has, indeed, been taxing!  Don’t get me wrong–I love my kids (and most of the time I even LIKE my kids! 🙂 ) and I’m grateful to have the summer so we can play more, let go of our normal routines, and spend more time together.  But I really am missing having large chunks of time when there is no one around, when I don’t have to be “on,” when I can keep to myself and think my own thoughts!  Not to mention, overall, I am just feeling plain old whipped!!  It’s been a little unsettling, in fact, when I’ve caught myself thinking in these past few weeks, “How much longer until school starts??”  In the past, I hadn’t had those thoughts until the week or so before school starts, not a week or so into summer!!  🙂

Anyway, for the moment, I wanted to give a brief medical update.  There’s not a lot to report, but this seemed like a good place to start.  When I saw the rheumatologist in late May, as I said before, he tested me for all kinds of things (nine vials of blood’s worth–and, we recently found out, over $2,000 worth!!–of things!  We are, more than ever, grateful for insurance!).  I didn’t even know what all he was checking for, so I asked him after the fact.  He responded with the following list:

Leukemia/myelodysplasia
Anemia
Thrombocytopenia
Gout
Renal insufficiency
Glomerulonephritis
Inflammatory disease
Diabetes mellius
Thyroid disease
Hepatitis A,B,C
syphilis
antiphospholipid syndrome
Systemic lupus
rheumatoid arthritis
scleroderma
Sjogren’s syndrome
polymyositis/dermatomyositis
spondyloarthropathy
Behcet’s syndrome
monoclonal gammopathy
vitamin D deficiency
“and maybe a few others.”

Seems like that’s enough to me!!  Only one of those (CCP antibody) came back with a slightly elevated number, and after having that specific blood test redone a few weeks ago, it turned out that it had been a false positive.  So as far as anyone can tell, none of the above conditions/syndromes is causing the ongoing fatigue (and headaches, and brain fog–symptoms which are not as readily apparent to others but which continue to affect me).  That seems like good news!

Dr. Sibbitt (the rheumatologist) also recommended a sleep study.  He didn’t think sleep apnea was likely, but he wondered if I might be experiencing something called “hypoventilation” when I sleep (meaning I don’t breathe deeply enough while I sleep, thereby causing my brain to not get enough oxygen at night….).  It turns out our local medical center has a sleep center tucked away in the far corner of the top floor, and in fact, I have an appointment to spend the night there…tonight (July 16)!  I didn’t sleep very well last night, and I’ve been advised to refrain from napping today, so I’m hoping that I won’t have any trouble falling asleep there tonight, even with whatever wires and cords are attached to whatever body parts are deemed necessary!  Time will tell whether anything helpful is discovered….

In the meantime, I am basking in the quiet and relative solitude of this week–my kids aren’t here!!  One of them is away at camp this week, and the other two are with my parents and sister in upstate New York for several more days.  After 6 1/2 weeks of summer vacation, with nearly 3 of those weeks spent traveling to see family, I am MOST appreciative of and grateful for this little period of down-time!!  For the most part, I’ve just hunkered down, rested as needed, kept to myself, and gulped down the quiet like a cold glass of water on a hot day!

And speaking of resting, I think I will go do just that.  It feels good to be doing a little writing again, and I know I have some more reflection-type thoughts bubbling around in my head and heart that will want to be expressed sometime in the near future.  For now, though, I’m going to let them keep bubbling in there, and go rest up for my exciting night of sleep!  Stay tuned!….

One thought on “Most recent blood tests/medical update

  1. Jenny Sebastian

    Hope all went well yesterday & you’ll get some answers! I am certain you have had everyone tell you to check and recheck for Lyme disease ,but, hey it’s your health! If you feel compelled to ask again you should! Were you ever tested for Thalassemia? That may be under the “few others” however I know that certain types are triggered by environmental factors/ infection. I know you will leave no stone unturned and determine how to optimistically move forward!!! I’m sure you are looking forward to hearing lots of stories about camp and Upstate NY! As I tell my girl, “these days I live my summer vicariously through you so you better have some tales to tell me when you get in the car!”

Leave a Reply

